Forum

Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] Solo Mega and BLDC HPM5000B motor

7 Posts
2 Users
0 Reactions
374 Views
Forum 1
(@ciostef)
Posts: 11
Active Member
Topic starter
 

Hello,
I have a Solo Mega and i want to connect to to a BLDC motor, especially to HPM-5000B Golden motor, 5Kw at 48V. The motor works fine with the original controller, but i need to control the motor in Torque mode which is not possible with the original controller.

All the setup is made in digital mode thru motion terminal V2.5.1

I've used your tutorial ( https://www.solomotorcontrollers.com/blog/hall-sensors-to-solo-for-controlling-speed-torque-brushless-motor/) to connect and setup the Solo Mega to the Motor.

I connected the hall sensors and i find the right combination, which is similar with your tutorials(see attached picture)

When i tried to find the right combination of the motor wires, none of the 6 combinations worked.

After the motor identification, when i tried to calibrate by Calibration Wizard the Hall sensors, the shaft of the motor only oscillate 1-2 degrees for a couple of seconds, after the error "Calibration Failed!, no Encoder/Hall Sensor feedback is sensed from the sensor, please check the connection and the wirings" appeared. If i turn the shaft manually and observe on the monitor the signals from the Hall sensors, they are correct.
If i tried to force rotatethe shaft when the calibration is in the process, after a while the error message " calibration for this Motor wiring failed, Change the wirings and redo the process".

This is the same for every wires combination for the motor. No one works.

What can be the issues here?

Stefan.

Screenshot 2023 08 22 224017
Screenshot 2023 08 22 230145
Screenshot 2023 08 22 225459

 

 
Posted : 22/08/2023 8:57 pm
SOLO Team
(@milad)
Posts: 603
Illustrious Member Admin
 

Hello @ciostef,

For Hall sensor Calibration there are two critical factors:

  1. You must insert the right number of Poles for the Motor before doing anything ( Number of Poles = Number of pole pairs x 2 )
  2. You must make sure the Current Limit is high enough so the Motor can spin during calibration

Posted by: @ciostef

After the motor identification, when i tried to calibrate by Calibration Wizard the Hall sensors, the shaft of the motor only oscillate 1-2 degrees for a couple of seconds,

From this, I can guess the Current Limit is not Enough as the Motor is big, so please increase it to much higher values, maybe you can start with 40A and see if the Motor starts slowly to spin in 1 direction ( without any back-and-forth motion), if not you will need to increase the current limit further slowly.

I couldn't find the exact number of Poles for your Motor, please check this with your manufacturer to be 100% sure about that.

 

Please check all these points and let me know.

 

Milad

 

If you found the answers helpful and you could solve your problems, please kindly verify here to help others in the future.

 
Posted : 23/08/2023 6:18 am
SOLO Team
(@milad)
Posts: 603
Illustrious Member Admin
 

Ok, I found this motor you'v mentioned "HPM-5000B Golden" has 8 poles ( 4 pole pairs), so please make sure in Motion terminal before anything you set this value at 8.

Milad

 

If you found the answers helpful and you could solve your problems, please kindly verify here to help others in the future.

 
Posted : 23/08/2023 6:21 am
Forum 1
(@ciostef)
Posts: 11
Active Member
Topic starter
 

In the Motion terminal  the number of poles is set to 8.

All calibration was tried with correct number of poles.

 

If I forced rotate the shaft in the "Calibration Wizard," on the speed test step, the motor start to rotate (with help) and rotate at maximum speed, a pop up appear and ask me the normal speed of motor, after that the motor start speeding again but not stopping anymore. An error pop up appear the the calibration have error and another motor connection is required. The power must be cut because the motor cannot be stopped.

With this step, the motor works somehow, but you cannot control the speed in speed mode. If you put any value, for example 100 rpm, the motor will increase speed to the maximum, and you cannot stop him.

In the Torque mode, at least 5 amps is required for the motor to start accelerate, but it need help to start rotate.

With the original controller, motor start to rotate with 1 Amp and at 5 amps has the maximum speed.

I measured the current drawn on calibration and the controller does not drawn current when the calibration starts, but when i force the rotation on some cases it start to rotate and at maximum speed draw 5 Amps(48V).

 

I will try increasing the Current Limit and let you know.

 

HPM motors technical data
 
Posted : 23/08/2023 6:45 am
SOLO Team
(@milad)
Posts: 603
Illustrious Member Admin
 

@ciostef 

Posted by: @ciostef

If I forced rotate the shaft in the "Calibration Wizard," on the speed test step, the motor start to rotate (with help) and rotate at maximum speed, a pop up appear and ask me the normal speed of motor, after that the motor start speeding again but not stopping anymore. An error pop up appear the the calibration have error and another motor connection is required. The power must be cut because the motor cannot be stopped.

With this step, the motor works somehow, but you cannot control the speed in speed mode. If you put any value, for example 100 rpm, the motor will increase speed to the maximum, and you cannot stop him.

In the Torque mode, at least 5 amps is required for the motor to start accelerate, but it need help to start rotate.

All these can happen if the calibration is not done successfully or in other words, the offsets found for the Hall sensor are not correct.

Once you press "Hall Sensor Calibration" ( for now let's forget about calibration wizard) , the Motor should spin slowly in 1 direction, if this is not happening it means the current limit is not enough, that current limit, defines for SOLO how much current to inject into the Motor for full torque operation, so it's different with the normal operation of the motor where you see 5A consumed.

Please note that the current consumed from the supply is not a good measure, as you can have 5A drawn from the supply but 100A inside the motor.

The current limit on SOLO defines the max current inside the Motor.

So now, by increasing the current Limit, please check once you press "Hall sensor Calibration", if the shaft of the Motor moves or it start jogging ( back and forth motions without any sensible rotation), if it joggs probably you need to increase the current limit until the Motor start rotating slowly.

I'll remain available.

Milad

 

If you found the answers helpful and you could solve your problems, please kindly verify here to help others in the future.

 
Posted : 23/08/2023 6:59 am
Forum 1
(@ciostef)
Posts: 11
Active Member
Topic starter
 

@milad

Thank you for your detailed information's.

Increasing the current limit solved the problem.

Now I understand in depth how the controller works.

Everything is fine.

Thank you!

 

Stefan

 

 
Posted : 23/08/2023 7:11 am
SOLO Team
(@milad)
Posts: 603
Illustrious Member Admin
 

@ciostef :

Ok Great, let me know if you have other questions.

Milad

 

If you found the answers helpful and you could solve your problems, please kindly verify here to help others in the future.

 
Posted : 23/08/2023 7:16 am
Share: